Write a letter to the editor supporting CSS Month!

Send a letter to local and provincial newspapers supporting Community Social Services!

Letters-to-the-editor are a powerful way to share your opinion about the value of community-based social services!

Letter writing tips

DO:

  1. Keep it short - letters should be no more than 150-200 words.
  2. Express a strong opinion - support your argument with facts or examples as needed.
  3. Keep it personal - The best letters are personal, come from the heart and/or include anecdotes to illustrate your point.
  4. Identify yourself - Include your real name and phone number. The newspaper may contact you to confirm your identity. 

DO NOT:

  1. Use inappropriate language.
  2. Use derogatory language - do not mock or disparage anybody.

BE CAUTIOUS ABOUT:

  • Writing about your employer - Employees have a duty of loyalty to their employer. In certain circumstances, employees can be disciplined for publically criticizing their employer. (Arbitrators consider factors such as the accuracy or truthfulness of the comments, the manner in which the criticism was made, the effect on the employer's reputation, if the ability of the employer to do its business was compromised and the interest of the public in the information.)

If you have concerns about a letter to the editor, you should check with your union steward before sending it to the newspaper.

We would welcome a copy of your letter, online blog posts and more at communications@bcgeu.ca Thank you!

 

 

Where to send your letter

Province Wide Newspapers

Vancouver Sun - sunletters@vancouversun.com

Vancouver Province - provletters@theprovince.com 

Victoria Times Colonist - letters@timescolonist.com

National Post - Link

Globe & Mail - letters@globeandmail.com

Lower Mainland Community Papers

24 Hours - van24feedback@sunmedia.ca

Metro News - vancouverletters@metronews.ca

Abbotsford News - newsroom@abbynews.com

Abbotsford Times - editorial@abbotsfordtimes.com

Agassiz Harrison Observer - news@ahobserver.com

Aldergrove Star - newsroom@aldergrovestar.com

Bowen Island Undercurrent - undercurrent@bcnewsgroup.com

Burnaby News Leader - newsroom@burnabynewsleader.com

Burnaby Now - editorial@burnabynow.com

Chilliwack Times - editorial@chilliwacktimes.com

Chilliwack Progress - editor@theprogress.com

Coquitlam Now - editorial@thenownews.com

Delta Optimist - editor@delta-optimist.com

The Georgia Straight - letters@straight.com

Hope Standard - news@hopestandard.com

Langley Advance - editorial@langleyadvance.com

Langley Times - newsroom@langleytimes.com

Maple Ridge News - editor@mapleridgenews.com

Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows Times - editorial@mrtimes.com

Mission City Record - news@missioncityrecord.com

New West News Leader - newsroom@newwestnewsleader.com

North Shore Outlook - newsroom@northshoreoutlook.com

North Shore News - editor@nsnews.com

Peace Arch News - editorial@peacearchnews.com

Royal City Record - editorial@royalcityrecord.com

Richmond News - editor@richmond-news.com

Richmond Review - news@richmondreview.com

South Delta Leader - news@southdeltaleader.com

Squamish Chief - Link

Surrey Now - editorial@surreynow.com

Surrey Leader - newsroom@surreyleader.com

Tri-City News - newsroom@tricitynews.com

Vancouver Courier - editorial@vancourier.com

Westender - editor@westender.com

Whistler Question Link

Interior and Northern Community Papers

100 Mile Free Press - newsroom@100milefreepress.net

Arrow Lakes News - newsroom@arrowlakesnews.com

Ashcroft Cache Creek Journal - editorial@accjournal.ca

Barriere Star Journal - news@starjournal.net

Burns Lake Lakes District News - newsroom@ldnews.net

Castlegar News - newsroom@castlegarnews.com

Creston Valley Advance - editor@crestonvalleyadvance.ca

Caledonia Courier - newsroom@caledoniacourier.com

Clearwater Times - newsroom@clearwatertimes.com

Cranbrook Daily Townsman - Link

Golden Star - editor@thegoldenstar.net

Houston Today - editor@houston-today.com

Invermere Valley Echo - editor@InvermereValleyEcho.com

Kamloops Daily News Online - kamloopsnews@telus.net

Kamloops This Week - editor@kamloopsthisweek.com

Kelowna Capital News - edit@kelownacapnews.com

Kelowna Daily Courier - Link

Kitimat Northern Sentinel - newsroom@northernsentinel.com

Kootenay News Advertiser - editor@kootenayadvertiser.com

Merritt Herald - newsroom@merrittherald.com

Northern View - newsroom@thenorthernview.com

Oliver Chronicle - editor@oliverchronicle.com

Omineca Express - newsroom@ominecaexpress.com

Opinion250.com - talk@opinion250.com

Penticton Western - editor@pentictonwesternnews.com

Powell River Peak - editor@prpeak.com

Prince George Citizen - Link

Prince George Free Press - editor@pgfreepress.com

Quesnel Cariboo Observer - newsroom@quesnelobserver.com

Revelstoke Times-Review - editor@revelstoketimesreview.com

Salmon Arm Observer - newsroom@saobserver.net

Similkameen Spotlight - editor@similkameenspotlight.com

Smithers Interior News - newsroom@interior-news.com

Summerland Review - news@summerlandreview.com

Sunshine Coast - Coast Reporter - Link

Terrace Standard - newsroom@terracestandard.com

Valley Voice - Link

Vernon Morning Star - glenn@vernonmorningstar.com

Williams Lake Tribune - editor@wltribune.com

Vancouver Island Community Papers

Alberni Valley News - editor@albernivalleynews.com

Alberni Valley Times - ccowan@avtimes.net

Campbell River Mirror - editor@campbellrivermirror.com

Courier-Islander - editor@courierislander.com

Courtenay Comox Valley Record - editor@comoxvalleyrecord.com

Cowichan News Leader - editor@cowichannewsleader.com

Gabriola Sounder News - derek@soundernews.com

Goldstream Gazette - editor@goldstreamgazette.com

Gulf Islands Driftwood - news@gulfislandsdriftwood.com

Ladysmith Chronicle - editor@ladysmithchronicle.com

Lake Cowichan Gazette - editor@lakecowichangazette.com

Nanaimo Bulletin - editor@nanaimobulletin.com

Nanaimo Daily News / Harbour City Star - letters@nanaimodailynews.com

North Island Gazette - editor@northislandgazette.com

Oak Bay News - editor@oakbaynews.com

Parksville Qualicum Beach News - editor@pqbnews.com

Peninsula News Review - editor@peninsulanewsreview.com

Saanich News - editor@saanichnews.com

Sooke News Mirror - editor@sookenewsmirror.com

Victoria News - Link

 

Read related media stories 

 

Copyright © 2013, BCGEU
4911 Canada Way, Burnaby, B.C. V5G 3W3 | Phone: (604) 291-9611 | Toll-Free: 1-800-663-1674 | E-mail us
Authorized by the BCGEU, registered sponsor under the Election Act. 604-291-9611
Privacy Policy

Site by Foley Design Studio, CEP 2040.